Resident Success

2018 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award

Congratulations to Dr. Nabeel Gul as he was chosen to receive the 2018 Arnold P.  Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award. His committed demonstration of clinical excellence and intensive devotion to teaching, coupled with his compassionate treatment of patients, families, and colleagues were among the admirable characteristics that inspired a clerking 3rd year medical student to nominate him for the award. This recognition illustrates how deeply respected and thoroughly appreciated his instruction and example has been to many medical students in their Department of General Surgery clinical rotations.

Congratulations to Dr. Neha Lad

Dr. Neha Lad was a leading author on an article recently published in the Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons; titled ‘Paradigms to Facilitate Autonomy in Resident Education’.
To review, please click here.

Dr. Nikolas Zaphiros Honored at Student Clinician Ceremony

Six residents were honored with the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award during the 16th annual Student Clinician Ceremony. Resident awardees were selected based on the honorees’ demonstration of commitment to teaching and compassionate treatment of patient and families, students and colleagues.

To see more details about the Student Clinician Ceremony, click here.

American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma Resident Papers’ Competition

UB was well represented at the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma Resident Papers’ Competition in Cooperstown, NY last month. Pictured are Dr. Michael Ernst (Urology), Dr. Jane Zhao, Dr. William Flynn, Dr. Reinier Narvaez and Dr. Brian Quaranto (Surgery).

American Society of Transplant Surgeons Winter Symposium, January 10-13, 2019 Miami, Florida

Dr. Reinier Narvaez is seen here with Dr. Liise Kayler (Program Director Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation, Chief of the Division of Transplant Surgery) with his two posters, “Impact of Cold Ischemia Time on DCD Kidney Transplant Outcomes” and “Outcomes of DCD Kidneys From Donors Who Received vs Did Not Receive Pre-Mortem Heparin”.
Medical student, Natalia Crenesse-Cozien is seen here with Dr. Liise Kayler as she presented her work on “IRD 1-2-3: An animated video about increased risk donors improves knowledge among patients with low health literacy”.
Medical student, Michael Cobler-Lichter is seen here with Dr. Liise Kayler and his poster, “Development of an Animated Video to Educate African American Kidney Transplant Candidates About Increased Risk Donors”

Dr. Andrew Nordin was inducted into the Jacob’s School of Medicine and Biomedical Science Epsilon Chapter of AOA in March of 2019

Alpha Omega Alpha — dedicated to the belief that in the profession of medicine we will improve care for all by:

  • recognizing high educational achievement;
  • honoring gifted teaching;
  • encouraging the development of leaders in academia and the community;
  • supporting the ideals of humanism; and
  • promoting service to others.

Dr. Rich Johnson is completing a Surgical Endoscopy rotation with Faculdade de Medicina in Sao Paulo, Brazil

Dr. Reinier Narvaez presents at the 27th International Congress of The Transplantation Society in Madrid, Spain

27th International Congress of The Transplantation Society was held in Madrid, Spain on  June 30 through July 5, 2018.

TTS has recognized the leading role of Spain in donation and transplantation, with the Spanish Model having become a reference worldwide. TTS and Organización Nacional de Trasplantes (ONT) were awarded the Prince of Asturias Award (considered as the Spanish equivalent of the Nobel Prize) in 2010 in the field of International Cooperation in recognition of their joint efforts in promoting ethical practices in transplantation.

A high-profile, scientific program committee developed a broad and exciting agenda that covered a diverse array of topics, ranging from cutting-edge science to the latest controversies in ethics and public policy. Issues relevant to developing transplant programs, organ donation and procurement were highlights for many participants.

AOA Honor

Congratulations to Jeffrey Silpe on his induction to AOA Honor Medical Society

2018 Residents as Teachers and Leaders

Kudos to PGY-4 Brett Parker and PGY-3 Rich Johnson for attending the 2018 Residents as Teachers and Leaders course at the American College for Surgeons Headquarters in Chicago, IL. Way to show tremendous leadership!

Congratulations to Dr. Gene Yang for winning Top Gun at SAGES 2018!

Thomas F. Frawley, MD Residency Research Fellowship Winner

Congratulations to PGY-2 Dr. J. Reinier Narvaez for winning the Thomas F. Frawley, MD Residency Research Fellowship granted by the University at Buffalo GME office. His project, “A Study of a Novel Organ Acceptance Rate Metric to Incentivize Organ Utilization” has the potential to make a great impact on the health of the community. Dr. Narvaez is currently completing our MPH/Research track and is accomplishing amazing things during this time!

Dr. Kevin Quinn Earns Honorable Mention at 2018 Siegel Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Kevin Quinn for earning an Honorable Mention for the 2018 Siegel Resident Award for Excellence in Teaching! This annual award is bestowed by a student committee, recognizing the importance of superior teaching in the pre-clinical and clinical portions of the medical curriculum and to provide encouragement and incentive for teaching achievement.

Laparoendoscopic Surgeons Top Gun Shootout

University at Buffalo Surgery Residents have won Society of Laparoendoscopic Surgeons Top Gun Shootout Three years in a row!

2017: Chandler Wilfong, Class of 2017
2016: Gene Yang, Class of 2020
2015: Timothy Schaffner, Class of 2017

13th  Annual Research Day Winners | May 26, 2017

Oral Presentations 

1st Place

The Effect of Omegaven on Pro-Inflammatory Receptors

George Ventro, MD, Yingkui Yang, MD, PhD, Min Chen, MD, Sarah Cairo, MD, and Carroll Harmon, MD, PhD
Presented by: George Ventro, MD

2nd Place

Unnecessary Percutaneous Cholecystostomy Drainage is Associated with Potentially Preventable Mortality: A Comparison of Patient Characteristics and Management Strategies for Cholecystitis in 2005 and 2015

Jane Zhao, MD ab, He Qui, BS c, IIya Aleksandrovskiy, BA c, Shannon Tierney, BS c, Michael Johnson, BS c, Mark Lawlor, BS c, Joel Braverman, BS c, Peter Elkin, MD b, Steven Schwaitzberg, MD, MA ab
Presented by: Jane Zhao, MD

3rd Place

Validation of the Age-Adjusted Shock Index Using Pediatric Trauma Quality Improvement Program Data

Andrew Nordin MD, Alan Coleman MD, Junxin Shi MD, PhD, Krista Wheeler MS, Henry Xiang MD, MPH, PhD, Shannon Acker MD, Denis Bensard MD, Brian Kenney MD, MPH
Presented by: Andrew Nordin, MD

Honorable Mention

Competitive Advantage of MBA for Physician-Executives: A Systematic Literature Review 

1, Anthony D. Turner, MS, MBA, 2, Stanislaw P. Stawicki, MD, MBA, FACS, Weidun Alan Guo, MD, PhD, FACS
Presented by: Anthony Turner, MS, MBA

Poster Presentations

1st Place

Transcervical Extended Mediastinal Lymphadenectomy (TEMLA) – Experience from a North American Cancer Center

2, Athar Battoo, Mark Hennon 1,2, Chukwumere E. Nwogu 1, 2, Elisabeth U Dexter 1,2, Miriam Huang 1,2 Anthony Picone 1 and Todd L. Demmy 1, 2

2nd Place

Utilization of a Nurse-Driven Protocol for Foley Catheter Removal to Reduce Catheter-Associated UTI Rates

Sathya Ram, Patricia Hodan, Charlene Ludlow, Jeffrew M. Jordan

3rd Place

You Get What You Pay for: Comparison of Atrial Fibrillation Prophlaxi in Lung Resection Patients

M. Tell, R. Renner, I. Cohen, A. Meagher, T. Demmy M. Hennon, M. Huang, C. Nwogu, A. S. Yendamuri, E. Dexter