UB professors granted over $1 million to train next generation of researchers

Department of Health grants two awards through Empire Clinical Research Investigator Program

The New York State Department of Health granted two $575,000 research awards to UB’s Liise Kayler and Ekaterina Noyes through the Empire Clinical Research Investigator Program.

DOH grants the awards to teaching hospitals to help fund residents’ research training. This is the second time DOH has granted ECRIP awards in Buffalo –– the first to Kaleida Health and ECMC in 2013. Kayler and Noyes will now select residents to train who will join their teams and receive hands-on experience as researchers. Those working with Kayler will research postoperative kidney transplant recipients and those working with Noyes will analyze connections between obesity and cancer.

Liise Kayler, MD
Liise Kayler, MD

Kayler’s project attempts to better the experience of kidney transplant recipients by providing a health animation to postoperative patients. This will provide patients with easy-to- follow, repeatable directions to help their new kidney last “as long as possible.”

“There’s so much to learn [after transplantation]. When people are fresh out of transplant, they’ve just had a surgery, they’re trying to recover. It’s not that easy to start this regimen,” Kayler said. “And there are other self-care behaviors that they have to do too. So it’s a lot and they are often overwhelmed.”

Noyes’ project includes postoperative patients as well, analyzing whether bariatric patients have a lower risk of cancer post weight loss.

Ekaterina Noyes, PhD, MPH
Ekaterina Noyes, PhD, MPH

Noyes said the ECRIP award is beneficial as it helps hospitals teach residents to find solutions which they can implement into patient care.

“That’s probably the most useful [aspect], that not only are we doing great research, we’re also training a new generation of researchers,” Noyes said. “This is a kind of research that directly benefits patients because everything we learn, we implement back into patient care. It’s not that some research is going to get published and nobody’s going to ever look at it. This is all very much applied work.”

Kayler said research training will also teach residents how to excel in their chosen field, whether it involves research or not.

“This provides [doctors] with the opportunity to spend dedicated time doing research. What I’ve seen of people who spend that much time [researching is that] it is transformative, it does change their careers,” Kayler said. “It gives them the fundamental skills to be able to follow their passion. … At the end of the day, it’s applying yourself step by step in the process of conducting research that is going to empower you to be able –– in the future –– to answer whatever questions you have.”

JACKLYN WALTERS – Health Journalist

Dr. Sikandar Khan Awarded Grant

The Society for Vascular Surgery has selected Dr. Sikandar Khan as a recipient of the 2019 SVS Foundation Clinical Research Seed Grant! This SVS Program was created to recognize the importance of clinical investigation in vascular disease. Dr. Khan will be recognized at the Vascular Annual Meeting Award Ceremony in June 2019.

Dr. Steven Schwaitzberg awarded Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service

Dr. Steven Schwaitzberg

Dr. Steven Schwaitzberg is a world renowned expert in minimally invasive surgery and the chairman of our department. The Chancellor’s Award is a distinction earned by those who consistently demonstrate superior professional performance. Dr. Schwaitzberg is well deserving of this award due to his numerous research contributions, impeccable leadership and experience sharing his knowledge around the world.

Gold Humanism Honor Society 2018

Gold Humanism Honor Society faculty Honorees

Congratulations to Weidun Alan Guo, MD, PhD, FACS and Susana Vargas-Pinto, MD for their induction to The Gold Humanism Honor Society! This Honor Society advocates for humanism in medicine and honors medical students, residents, physician-teachers and others who “demonstrate excellence in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service.”

 In 2004, the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences established the Richard Sarkin, MD-Medical Emeritus Faculty Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

In 2004, the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences established the Richard Sarkin, MD-Medical Emeritus Faculty Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society.